21

Hey everybody,
In 50 minutes I’m 21 . . . Am I happy about it?

Funnily enough, not much. I don’t feel like I’ve done enough to qualify to be that old. 1) I haven’t been overseas (and the funny thing is I don’t care), 2) I don’t have a partner (this is because all the shy guys don’t go out of their house much . . . like me, 3) everyone (okay that’s an exaggeration, but a FEW people) have started having children . . . I feel so disconnected from society when I look at what I’ve achieved . . . and my achievements are a lot of things that other people wouldn’t care about: “Wow I’ve stayed out of the psychiatric unit for 5 years!” Or, “Now it only takes me 45 minutes to get to sleep as opposed to 2 hours”. I still write fiction, and the prologue of my latest work will be released shortly but ultimately my best achievement is that I’ve learned coping skills to deal with bullying so that I DON’T slice my arm open with school scissors and leave a huge scar that no vitamin E cream will fade.

I guess it’s ironic that my talent is something that only friends can truly appreciate. When I write a story I feel like I’m letting all the sadness go. When I write the story comes alive in my mind and I need nothing else to make me feel better. If and when I find a guy, I’d like him to appreciate my love of writing and who knows . . . maybe he’ll read it:-) Story writing is the only thing in life I haven’t had to work for and I think I’m gonna make the most of it.

Until next time,

That’s all Folks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 21

  1. Every avhievement should be celebrated, whether big or small. You don’t have to do anything to ‘qualify’ being a certain age. The most important thing is that you learn to love yourself. Small achievements are very important, lots of small achievements make up the big ones – no one would ever get anywhere if they only concentrated on the ‘big’ goals and not the little steps to get there. Besides, you should never underestimate the value of small personal goals, especially ones concerning your health.
    Happy 21st! (again)

Leave a Reply

